UNIUN-Logo UNIUN in Vienna 1999

Deutsch


in Vienna
Objective
Intensive training to become a top employer
Encouraging the establishment of interdisciplinary teams
Incentives targeting women in particular
Private-Public-Partnership
Beginning public relations
Large preliminary meeting in January 99
European Union partners
Getting established at Austrian universities

Objective

UNIUN is directed at all graduates, undergraduates and scientists at the University of Vienna and the Vienna University of Technology.

UNIUN is anxious to raise the number of enterprises set up by university members, as well as firmly establishing there the idea of practical assistance with their actual creation.

The L&R social research study, which came out recently, indicates that only a sixth of all graduates from Austrian universities dare to go into self-employed work (classic professional positions such as medical practices, law offices and civil technical work included).

Setting up a business does not only require the technical know-how, which university graduates are more than likely to have. The idea of setting up a business must rather be conceived of as a fun, enjoyable alternative to working for an employer. University graduates' interest in going into self-employed work should therefore be supported. At the same time the indispensable apparatus necessary for setting up a business should also be provided.

Intensive training to become a top employer

First of all, intensive advice and training over several months in almost all business-relevant areas will be offered to selected university graduates and students, who are considering to set up their own business At the beginning there are business planning games and ideas workshops, which enable participants to take on the role of employer and additionally spark off innovative entrepreneurial ideas in. In the second stage the participants receive extensive training in personal presentation techniques. This section comprises, amongst other things, presentation, handling negotiations, sales, teamwork and conflict management. The seminars deal with finance, the basics of fiscal and legal matters, marketing, market research and promotion possibilities. Participants also receive individual coaching. A transnational meeting provides the setting for an information exchange with participants working on foreign projects. It is also a good opportunity to make some business contacts.

Encouraging the establishment of interdisciplinary teams

The target group comprises scientists, graduates and students of the University of Vienna and the Vienna University of Technology. They are targeted with completely no reference to their basic education. In this way the idea of creating unusual, interdisciplinary teams can be put into practice.

Incentives targeting women in particular

Since female university graduates set up companies particularly rarely, explicit emphasis has been given to the support of female students and graduates in the Viennese project. To enable and motivate more women to set up businesses, besides the mixed group, a special group just for women has been planned.

Private-Public-Partnership

Cooperation between two extremely traditional universities and new private enterprises is an especially innovative element of the project. The project is being carried out in Austria by the following institutions: Vienna University of Technology Extension Centre, das Business Frauen Center, der Club der Universität Wien, die Intercom Unternehmensberatung and die L&R Sozialforschung OEG (who came up with the initiative for the international project).

Beginning public relations

On 4 December 98 UNIUN was presented at a press conference by the rectors of the two Austrian universities taking part in the project, namely University Professor Dr. Wolfgang Greisenegger (University of Vienna) and University Professor Dr. Peter Skalicky (Vienna University of Technology), alongside the Austrian project partners .

Large preliminary meeting in January 99

A large opening meeting is being held in the middle of January 99. Here there will be workshops, a business planning game and a large panel discussion. Apart from the project coordinators from Austria the foreign partners from Berlin and Frankfurt will also be present.

EU-Partner

UNIUN receives substantial financial support from the European Union. It is taking place in three different European locations at the same time, with different activities going on in each location. Besides Vienna, there are Berlin and Frankfurt/Main. Several German institutions are involved, amongst them the Existenzgründungsinstitut Berlin, the INBAS GmbH and the Fachhochschule Frankfurt. This collection of institutions allows project participants to share experiences and exchange information, and in so doing, creates new networks.

Getting established at Austrian universities

UNIUN has been formulated as a one-year project. It is constantly evaluated to monitor its effectiveness.

The measures of the pilot phase described here should create a "tool box" which can be successfully used to provide graduates with incentives to set up their own businesses.

If UNIUN goes well in the pilot phase, then there are plans to introduce the successful tools which it has developed to all interested Austrian universities on a long-term basis (for example, at the Vienna University of Technology, in the context of the established support of entrepreneurship, which is offered by the Extension Centre in cooperation with the Department for Industrial Management Economics at Vienna University of Technology, Professor Stepan).

Final Event on Nov. 4th
Participants to the Event
Abstract of Evaluation (Summary)
Seminars and Workshops
"Marktanalyse"
and
"Potentialanalyse"
Links for Entrepreneurs
Excerpt of press releases
UNIUN - "GründerInnentag", 19.1.1999
The Viennese Partners
 

Back to the UNIUN-Homepage To the top of the page
Created by:  Außeninstitut der TU-Wien

UNIUN-Logo UNIUN in Wien 1999

English


in Wien
Zielsetzung
Intensivtraining zum Topunternehmer
Förderung interdisziplinärer Teamgründungen
Frauen besonders gefördert
Private-Public-Partnership
Beginn der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Große Auftaktveranstaltung im Jänner 99
EU-Partner
Verankerung an österreichischen Universitäten

Zielsetzung

UNIUN richtet sich an alle Absolventinnenen und Absolventen, an Studierende vor dem Abschluß sowie an Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler an der Universität Wien und an der Technischen Universität Wien.

UNIUN ist bestrebt, die Quote von Unternehmensgründungen aus Universitäten heraus anzuheben und die Idee der praktischen Gründungshilfe an Universitäten zu verankern.

Wie aus der jüngst vorgestellten Studie von L&R Sozialforschung hervorgeht, wagt nur ein Sechstel aller AbsolventInnen der österreichischen Universitäten den Schritt in die Selbständigkeit (inklusive klassischer Arztpraxen, Rechtsanwaltskanzleien und Ziviltechniker-Büros).

Um ein Unternehmen zu gründen, bedarf es nicht nur des fachlichen Know-hows, das zweifellos bei UniversitätsabsolventInnen vorhanden ist. Vielmehr muß der Gründungsgedanke als freud- und lustvolle Alternative zur unselbständigen Beschäftigung etabliert werden. Die UniversitätsabsolventInnen müssen in ihrer Bereitschaft zur Selbständigkeit gestärkt werden. Gleichzeitig muß das für die Unternehmensgründung unabdingbar notwendige Rüstzeug vermittelt werden.

Intensivtraining zum Topunternehmer

Ausgewählten UniversitätsabsolventInnen und Studierenden, die eine Gründung beabsichtigen, wird zunächst intensive Beratung und Training über mehrere Monate hinweg in nahezu allen unternehmensrelevanten Bereichen angeboten. Am Anfang stehen Unternehmensplanspiele und Ideenwerkstätten, die ermöglichen, in die Rolle des Unternehmers zu schlüpfen und zusätzlich innovative Gründungsvorhaben anregen. Im zweiten Schritt erhalten die TeilnehmerInnen ein umfangreiches persönlichkeitsbildendes Training und absolvieren Fachseminare. Der persönlichkeitsbildende Teil umfaßt u.a. Präsentation, Verhandlungsführung, Verkauf, Teamarbeit und Konfliktmanagement. Die Fachseminare behandeln Finanzierung, steuerliche und rechtliche Grundlagen, Marketing, Marktforschung und Förderungsmöglichkeiten. Im weiteren wird den TeilnehmerInnen individuelles Coaching zuteil. Im Rahmen eines transnationalen Treffens werden Erfahrungen mit den TeilnehmerInnen der ausländischen Projekte ausgetauscht und Geschäftskontakte geknüpft.

Förderung interdisziplinärer Teamgründungen

Die Zielgruppe sind alle Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, Absolventinnen und Absolventen sowie Studierenden der Universität Wien und der Technischen Universität Wien - völlig unabhängig von ihrer Grundausbildung. Damit wird auch die Idee von ungewöhnlichen, interdisziplinären Teamgründungen verfolgt.

Frauen besonders gefördert

Da Universitätsabsolventinnen besonders selten Unternehmen gründen, ist die Unterstützung weiblicher Studierender und Absolventen im Wiener Projekt ein expliziter Schwerpunkt. Um Frauen vermehrt zu Gründungen zu befähigen und zu motivieren, ist neben einer gemischten auch eine spezielle Frauengruppe vorgesehen.

Private-Public-Partnership

Die Kooperation zwischen zwei traditionsreichen Universitäten und jungen privaten Unternehmen ist ein besonderes, innovatives Element des Projektes.
Träger des Projektes in Österreich sind: das Außeninstitut der TU Wien, das Business Frauen Center, der Club der Universität Wien, die Intercom Unternehmensberatung und die L&R Sozialforschung OEG, von der die Initiative zu dem internationalen Projekt ausgegangen ist.

Beginn der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Am 4. Dezember 98 wurde UNIUN im Rahmen eines Pressegespräches durch die Rektoren der beiden am Projekt beteiligten österreichischen Universitäten, Univ. Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Greisenegger (Universität Wien) und Univ. Prof. Dr. Peter Skalicky (Technische Universität Wien), sowie durch die österreichischen Projektpartner vorgestellt.

Große Auftaktveranstaltung im Jänner 99

Mitte Jänner 99 wird eine große Eröffnungsveranstaltung stattfinden – mit ersten Workshops, Geschäfts-Plan-Spiel und großer Podiumsdiskussion. Außer den Projektträgern aus Österreich werden hier auch die ausländischen Partner aus Berlin und Frankfurt anwesend sein.

EU-Partner

UNIUN wird von der Europäischen Union maßgeblich mitfinanziert. Es findet - mit unterschiedlichen Aktivitäten - gleichzeitig an drei europäischen Standorten statt. Neben Wien sind dies Berlin und Frankfurt/Main. Mehrere deutsche Institutionen sind involviert, darunter das Existenzgründungsinstitut Berlin, die INBAS GmbH und die Fachhochschule Frankfurt. Mit ihnen wird intensiver Erfahrungs-Austausch gepflegt und eine neue Vernetzungen hergestellt.

Verankerung an österreichischen Universitäten

UNIUN ist als einjähriges Projekt angelegt. Es wird laufend evaluiert, um seine Wirksamkeit zu überprüfen.

Die hier beschriebenen Maßnahmen der Pilotphase sollen eine "Tool-Box" zur erfolgreichen Förderung von Unternehmensgründungen durch AbsolventInnen schaffen.

Wird UNIUN in der Pilotphase gut aufgenommen, dann ist langfristig eine Verankerung der erfolgreichen Tools an allen interessierten österreichischen Universitäten angepeilt (beispielsweise an der TU Wien im Rahmen der etablierten Gründungsunterstützung, wie sie vom Außeninstitut in Kooperation mit der Abteilung für Industrielle Betriebswirtschaftslehre der TU Wien, Prof. Stepan, geboten wird).

Der Abschlußevent
Die GründerInnen
Evaluationsbericht (Zusammenfassung)
Seminare und Workshops
Marktanalyse
und
Potentialanalyse
Links für Unternehmensgründer
Pressespiegel
UNIUN - GründerInnentag, 19.1.1999
Die Wiener Partner
 

Zurück zur UNIUN-Homepage Nach oben zum Seitenanfang
Erstellt von:  Außeninstitut der TU-Wien